15th ArtsWorcester Biennial

April 12, 2013–May 31, 2013
The Aurora Gallery

For thirty years, the ArtsWorcester Biennial has offered local contemporary artists an opportunity to show their finest work to a broad public. Artworks by both established and emerging artists were selected for exhibition, with all media represented: painting, sculpture, photography, digital art, fine craft, mixed media, and photography. All but two works in the exhibit are available for purchase, with prices ranging from $200 to $2,600.

Katherine French, Director of Danforth Art, juried the exhibition. Out of 259 works, she selected 102 works for exhibition, with 21 artists recognized with awards. While a dramatic, large-scale sculpture was named Best in Show, photography is particularly strong in this year’s Biennial. Dr. French recognized this regional strength by dividing the Best in Photography award among three artists. The Sally Bishop Prize for Best In Show carries a cash award of $500, and Best in Category and Honorable Mentions ranging from $50 to $200. The awards are sponsored by the Hoche-Scofield Prize and Scholarship Fund of the Worcester Art Museum.

Best in Show: Victor Pacheco for “Peace Bird” (pictured/photo courtesy of Worcester Magazine)
Best in Digital Art: Jon Hansen
Best in Sculpture: Cheryl Lichwell
Best in Craft: Ginny Gillen
Best in Mixed Media: Susan Swinand
Best in Painting: Robin Reynolds
Best in Photography: Brittany Severance
Best in Photography: Dana Lane
Best in Photography: Eric Nichols
Honorable Mentions: Digital Art: Joseph Farbrook; Sculpture: Ted Lilley; Craft: Jill Burns; Mixed Media: Donalyn Schofield; Mixed Media: Carlotta Miller; Painting: John Buron; Painting: Conrad Guertin; Painting: Patricia Hegedus; Photography: Catherine Wilcox-Titus; Photography: Jim Collins; Photography: Anne McNevin; Photography: Louis Despres

Artists selected for exhibition are: Joan Avato, Zia Ayub, James Barnhill, Trisha Barry, Lisa Barthelson, Crystal Blanchflower, Jill Burns, John Buron, Grace Cherubino, Allison Coelho Picone, James Collins, Linda Dagnello, Robert Dec, Ella Delyanis, Louis Despres, Nancy DeYoung, Margaret Emerson, Nancy Engberg, Eugene Epstein, Joseph Farbrook, Allen Fletcher, Sharon Freed, Ginny Gillen, Conrad Guertin, Jon Hansen, Barry Hanshaw, Anne Harris, Patricia Hegedus, Brian Higgins, Dana Lane, Robyn Lane, Chelsea LeBeau Hueter, Cheryl Lichwell, Ted Lilley, Jeff Loughlin, Fernando Martins, Rick Martorano, Alyce Mayo, Sean McGrail, Anne McNevin, Carlotta Miller, Eric Nichols, Karen Nunley, Cade Overton, Richard Ovian, Kat O’Connor, Victor Pacheco, Irina Parfenova, Christopher Peter Reinhardt, Robin Reynolds, Ann Rosebrooks, Erik Sandberg-Diment, Donalyn Schofield, Brittany Severance, Richard Shilale, Helen Obermeyer Simmons, Catherine Quick Spingler, Susan Swinand, Donna Hamil Talman, Dick Taylor, Kellie Weeks, Catherine Wilcox-Titus, Peter Wise, Agnes Wyant, and Marla Zeneski.

Supported through the generosity of the George F. & Sybil H. Fuller Foundation.

united_bank_logo_color_0     wac_logo_color     wam_logotg_dual_logo_4c_jpg_0-1 massculturalcouncil_logo cb_logo_-_positive_-_2c_-_horizontal